The Dangerous Kind by Deborah O’Connor

I am thrilled to be a stop on the #blogtour for The Dangerous Kind today!  I raced through this disturbing thriller in record time and it truly left me reeling.  This is going to be one of my top books of 2019!

6D6E48B3-E972-4071-B02F-957890A48F16.jpeg

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Anatomy of A Scandal, He Said/She Said, and Belinda Bauer, The Dangerous Kind is at once a gripping thriller and a stunning portrayal of the monsters that live among us. One in 100 of us is a ‘potentially dangerous person’ – someone likely to commit a violent crime. We all know them: these charmers, liars and manipulators. The ones who send prickles up the back of our neck. These people hide in plain sight, they can be teachers, doctors, holding positions of trust, of power. Jessamine Gooch makes a living tracking the 1 in 100.

9010FB28-5B75-4484-952F-0F943FA63FFB

Each week she broadcasts a radio show that examines brutal offences, asking if more could have been done to identify and prevent their perpetrators. But when she agrees to investigate a missing person case involving a young mother, she is drawn into a web of danger that will ultimately lead to the upper echelons of power, and threaten the safety of her own family. What if the people we trust are the ones we should fear?

2E9F4BE4-FC9A-4E8C-A05C-793FD8A20C66

My Thoughts

WOW.  This intriguing story is completely different to anything I’ve ever read before.  It’s subject matter is harrowing, yet utterly compelling.  There is a sinister edge running through the entire book, which is both spine chilling and exhilarating.

O’Connor cleverly weaves an intricate web with her characters and hooks the reader in from the very first page.  Jessamine is a fiery individual full of sass and she knows her stuff.  Exactly the type of female protagonist I like and root for.  With every single character I had that unsettling, nagging feeling that something was not quite right with them, yet was unable to put my finger on what.  I even found myself questioning whether Jessamine herself was as shifty as the rest.

A well plotted and carefully constructed narrative; I genuinely had no idea where the story was going to go and every time I thought I’d guessed, I was totally wrong.  It races unforgivingly through short sharp chapters to a crescendo at the end and I tore through the pages unable to sleep.

This book had me totally on edge and I LOVED IT.  Refreshingly original and totally relevant, this book is a serious contender for my book of the year and it’s only June!

The Dangerous Kind is out in hardback now and you can buy it here

If you enjoyed my review, please do check out my other posts and also the other stops on the #blogtour (see below).  My thanks go to Tracy Fenton and Zaffre books for the invitation to the tour and my stunning hardcover in return for my honest review.

@mrscookesbooks

361998BB-3B37-4F3D-B398-B8CEE0CE4531

9C00FA16-563F-4F52-8ACB-463694996FF6

Published by Mrs Cooke

👩🏽‍💻📚I read and shout 📣 about books 👯‍♀️owner of 2 book-loving Littles 🌳village dweller ✍️stationery fiend 🍸gin enthusiast 📩DM for reviews etc 💌

4 thoughts on “The Dangerous Kind by Deborah O’Connor

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started