The Lost Ones by Anita Frank

Welcome to my post on the #HalloweenTakeover for The Lost Ones by Anita Frank!  I‘ve had my beady eye on this book for a while and was thrilled to be asked to take part in this special event!

6249A5F3-0B2F-482F-942F-612166B916D4

Synopsis

Some houses are never at peace.

England, 1917

Reeling from the death of her fiancé, Stella Marcham welcomes the opportunity to stay with her pregnant sister, Madeleine, at her imposing country mansion, Greyswick – but she arrives to discover a house of unease and her sister gripped by fear and suspicion.

Before long, strange incidents begin to trouble Stella – sobbing in the night, little footsteps on the stairs – and as events escalate, she finds herself drawn to the tragic history of the house.

Aided by a wounded war veteran, Stella sets about uncovering Greyswick’s dark and terrible secrets – secrets the dead whisper from the other side…

In the classic tradition of The Woman in Black, Anita Frank weaves a spell-binding debut of family tragedy, loss and redemption.

My Thoughts

I love a good ghost story, especially one involving a haunted house, so I was very excited to start this book.  Happily, I was not disappointed; The Lost Ones is one of those rare finds; a good old fashioned ghost story filled with glorious gothic gorgeousness.

Frank deftly uses her ability to write beautiful, almost musical prose, to invoke chills and raise the hairs on your neck.  I was utterly consumed by the beautiful language used in this book; it made for a very atmospheric and creepy read.  I read whilst surrounded by suspicion from very early on!

I was gripped by the story; shrouded in mystery and never far from the supernatural, this was a wonderfully suffocating read, which I found to be both intriguing and compelling.

What came as a surprise to me was that not only is this a spooky ghost story, perfect for Halloween, it is also a story steeped in sadness.  This is a surprisingly emotional read and I was touched by the tragedy entwined therein.

Dark and shadowy, haunting and harrowing, this is a truly accomplished debut and I look forward to reading whatever Frank offers us next!

The Lost Ones is out now in hardcover and you can buy it here

My thanks go to Joe Thomas and HQ Stories for my invitation to the #HalloweenTakeover and also for my gorgeous finished copy of the book.  If you enjoyed my post, please do check out my others, and also the other stops on the #halloweentakeover (see below).

Until next time!

@mrscookesbooks

cropped-361998bb-3b37-4f3d-b398-b8cee0ce4531.jpeg

2ECC53B5-DC4B-4434-8C1F-A78737332B51

 

 

A House of Ghosts by W.C Ryan

Welcome to my stop on the #blogtour for A House of Ghosts by W.C Ryan!  I love a good ghost story so was delighted when I got the opportunity to read this.

9C649351-5CD9-4310-8D83-BE565711E7D7

Synopsis

Winter 1917. As the First World War enters its most brutal phase, back home in England, everyone is seeking answers to the darkness that has seeped into their lives.

At Blackwater Abbey, on an island off the Devon coast, Lord Highmount has arranged a spiritualist gathering to contact his two sons who were lost in the conflict. But as his guests begin to arrive, it gradually becomes clear that each has something they would rather keep hidden. Then, when a storm descends on the island, the guests will find themselves trapped. Soon one of their number will die.

For Blackwater Abbey is haunted in more ways than one . .
.
An unrelentingly gripping mystery packed with twists and turns, A House of Ghosts is the perfect chilling read this winter.

My Thoughts

Firstly, and to my absolute delight, this book opened to reveal none other than a map! I am a HUGE fan of maps in books so knew instantly that I was on to a winner!  There are also a small number of pen drawings in the opening pages and at the beginning of each chapter; each so lovely and detailed.  My particular favourite was that of the lighthouse.

Whilst this wasn’t quite the “haunted house” story I was expecting; I was enthralled by this creepy, suspenseful and fabulously atmospheric, mystery novel.  More of a spy thriller than a ghost story, I was gripped by its twists and turns, and it kept me guessing throughout.

With a wonderful cast of characters; each uniquely fascinating in themselves, this book has a delicious “old school” mystery feel to it.  Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie books and others of that ilk.

A House of Ghosts is an entertaining and fast paced story, which really is the perfect autumnal, fire-side read.

A House of Ghosts is out now in paperback and you can buy it here

My thanks go to Tracy Fenton of Compulsive Readers for my invitation to the #blogtour and also to Clare Kelly of Zaffre for my beautiful, finished copy in exchange for my honest review.  If you enjoyed my post, please do check out my others, and also the other stops on the #blogtour (see below).

Until next time!

@mrscookesbooks

cropped-361998bb-3b37-4f3d-b398-b8cee0ce4531.jpeg

F9F527F5-F5A4-4888-BC3D-FDB6B05D9A6E