A House of Ghosts by W.C Ryan

Welcome to my stop on the #blogtour for A House of Ghosts by W.C Ryan!  I love a good ghost story so was delighted when I got the opportunity to read this.

9C649351-5CD9-4310-8D83-BE565711E7D7

Synopsis

Winter 1917. As the First World War enters its most brutal phase, back home in England, everyone is seeking answers to the darkness that has seeped into their lives.

At Blackwater Abbey, on an island off the Devon coast, Lord Highmount has arranged a spiritualist gathering to contact his two sons who were lost in the conflict. But as his guests begin to arrive, it gradually becomes clear that each has something they would rather keep hidden. Then, when a storm descends on the island, the guests will find themselves trapped. Soon one of their number will die.

For Blackwater Abbey is haunted in more ways than one . .
.
An unrelentingly gripping mystery packed with twists and turns, A House of Ghosts is the perfect chilling read this winter.

My Thoughts

Firstly, and to my absolute delight, this book opened to reveal none other than a map! I am a HUGE fan of maps in books so knew instantly that I was on to a winner!  There are also a small number of pen drawings in the opening pages and at the beginning of each chapter; each so lovely and detailed.  My particular favourite was that of the lighthouse.

Whilst this wasn’t quite the “haunted house” story I was expecting; I was enthralled by this creepy, suspenseful and fabulously atmospheric, mystery novel.  More of a spy thriller than a ghost story, I was gripped by its twists and turns, and it kept me guessing throughout.

With a wonderful cast of characters; each uniquely fascinating in themselves, this book has a delicious “old school” mystery feel to it.  Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie books and others of that ilk.

A House of Ghosts is an entertaining and fast paced story, which really is the perfect autumnal, fire-side read.

A House of Ghosts is out now in paperback and you can buy it here

My thanks go to Tracy Fenton of Compulsive Readers for my invitation to the #blogtour and also to Clare Kelly of Zaffre for my beautiful, finished copy in exchange for my honest review.  If you enjoyed my post, please do check out my others, and also the other stops on the #blogtour (see below).

Until next time!

@mrscookesbooks

cropped-361998bb-3b37-4f3d-b398-b8cee0ce4531.jpeg

F9F527F5-F5A4-4888-BC3D-FDB6B05D9A6E

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s